“Educators Evaluate ‘Flipped Classrooms'”- Katie Ash

 

Animated GIF
Flip Fail, lol. (GIPHY)

 

I’m going to stick with another scholarly source for this one as well! My fourth source is called, “Educators Evaluate Flipped Classrooms,” written by Katie Ash, a writer for Education Week and Digital Directions. I also found this source through Google Scholar. I chose this source because it goes off my previous source answering my question in reading against the grain which is, If the lectures and assignments are due/required completion before class time, is there any type of motive to show up for the physical class? I feel that this source answers it with multiple teachers/researchers putting in their own personal experiences in using flipped learning.

Flipped Learning, as defined in the article is, “replacing traditional classroom lectures with video tutorials.” (Ash 1) In most cases, this type of learning replaces homework with more time to have in class discussions and activities on the material you would’ve learned outside of class, with the videos provided to you. While this may appeal to many educators and students, there are still other types of flipped learning. Andrew Miller, an educational consultant said, “My concern is that if you’re still relying on lecture as your primary mode of getting content across, … you haven’t done anything to shift type of learning that’s occurring.” He continues, “That’s not how all of us learn,” he said. “Just because you flipped your classroom doesn’t mean your students will watch the videos. How are you engaging your kids?” (Ash 2) This goes to show that not all students are capable of learning effectively only using online materials. In the same way, not all teachers are effective in their approaches to flipped learning.

Deb Wolf, a high school instructional coach tried to implement flipped learning into a class of chemistry students who all were at different levels of learning. “For students who had not been challenged in the classroom, this was an opportunity for them to just fly,” she said. “For others, it was an opportunity to take the time that they needed to move slower. And for some, self-paced became no pace,” and teachers had to step in and create deadlines.” (Ash 4) This encouraged other teachers to implement the flipped learning in their own classrooms and to really figure out how to get their students engaged in the material.

In turn, many students come from different backgrounds. Some kids may go home and get help from their parents while others get none. By using flipped learning, students are able to get extra access to supplemental materials in order to help them further understand something they might be struggling in. (Ash 5)

I agree very strongly with this article! It is interesting to me to see how much the educators involved in this article care about their students and how effective they feel their styles of teaching influence their learning for all levels of students. While I didn’t find myself reading against the grain in this source, I did find myself thinking of my research question and how it might be changing from the differences in online learning vs. face to face, to which is more effective- online learning, face to face, or a combination of both? I really hope that my last source in my research can conclude this newly formed question!

 

 

Leave a comment